The qualifier, who had already been warned for hurling her racquet after losing the second set,

received a point penalty that gave Madison Keys match point in their fourth-round encounter.

Andreeva saved that point but went on to lose 3-6 7-6 (7-4) 6-2.

"I didn't throw the racquet, I slid," she protested to the umpire.

She did not shake hands with umpire Louise Azemar Engzell as she left court two in

a hurry having previously enthralled fans with her brilliant displays on the big stage.

She told a news conference the official had made the wrong decision on the second warning,

which came at deuce at 5-2 in the third set after she ran to retrieve a deep ball to her right and appeared to lose her footing.

She touched the grass with her left hand before her right arm came over the top and the racquet hit the ground with force.

It earned her a second warning and an automatic point penalty, which gave her American opponent match point.